Presidential Advisory Committee on Gulf War Veterans' Illnesses

Joyce C. Lashof, M.D., Committee Chair

is former Dean and Professor Emerita of the School of Public Health at the University of California at Berkeley. Dr. Lashof was Assistant Director of the Office of Technology Assessment from 1978-81 and Deputy Assistant Secretary for Health Programs and Deputy Assistant Secretary for Population Affairs at the Department of Health, Education, and Welfare from 1977-78. She served as President of the American Public Health Association in 1991-92.

John Baldeschwieler, Ph.D.

is Professor of Chemistry and former Chair of the Division of Chemistry and Chemical Engineering at the California Institute of Technology. From 1971-73, Dr. Baldeschwieler served as Deputy Director of the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy. He is an expert on national security issues, having served on numerous scholarly panels, commissions, and committees.

Arthur Caplan, Ph.D.

is Director of the Center for Bioethics at the University of Pennsylvania. Dr. Caplan was Director of the Center for Biomedical Ethics and Professor of Philosophy and Professor of Surgery at the University of Minnesota from 1987-94. He is an authority on ethics and medicine, and serves as the first President of the American Association of Bioethics.

Thomas P. Cross

is currently a Major in the United States Marine Corps Reserve who was activated during Operation Desert Shield/Desert Storm. He was an Assistant Operations Officer for the 6th Marine Regiment in the Gulf, where he participated in the initial attack across the Kuwaiti border in February 1991. He is the recipient of the Navy Commendation Medal with Combat `V', as well as the Combat Action Ribbon and the Kuwait Liberation Medal. Mr. Cross earned a B.S. in marketing from Central Connecticut State University and is continuing his education toward a Certification in Purchasing Management (CPM). He is currently a sales representative for Bell Industries, an electronics components distributor in Meriden, Connecticut.

Donald Custis, M.D.

is the Senior Medical Advisor to the Health Policy Department of the Paralyzed Veterans of America. From 1980-84, he served as Chief Medical Director for the Veterans Administration, having joined VA in 1976. During his career, he served as Commanding Officer of the Naval Combat Hospital in Danang, Vietnam (1969), followed by command of the National Naval Medical Center in Bethesda, Maryland. He retired in 1976 as the U.S. Navy Surgeon General, with the rank of Vice Admiral.

David A. Hamburg, M.D.

is President of the Carnegie Corporation. Dr. Hamburg was President of the Institute of Medicine, National Academy of Sciences from 1975-80, and Director of the Division of Health Policy Research and Education and John D. MacArthur Professor of Health Policy at Harvard University from 1980-82. He served as President, then Chairman of the Board, of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, between 1984-86.

James A. Johnson

is Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of the Federal National Mortgage Association in Washington, DC. Mr. Johnson was a managing director at Lehman Brothers from 1985-90, and Executive Assistant to Vice President Walter Mondale from 1977-81. He is Chairman of the Board of Trustees of the Brookings Institution and also serves on the Boards of the Carnegie Endowment for International Peace and the Carnegie Corporation.

Marguerite Knox, M.N., R.N.C., C.C.R.N.

is a Clinical Assistant Professor at the College of Nursing of the University of South Carolina in Columbia, and a Major in the South Carolina Army National Guard. As a member of the U.S. Army Nurse Corps, Major Knox was stationed with the 251st evacuation hospital at King Khalid Military City during Operation Desert Shield and Desert Storm. From 1988-93, she was a Special Nurse, Peripheral Vascular Lab at the William Jennings Bryan Dorn Veterans Hospital in Columbia, South Carolina.

Philip J. Landrigan, M.D.

is Director of the Division of Environmental and Occupational Medicine at the Mount Sinai School of Medicine in New York and a Lieutenant Commander in the United States Naval Reserve. Dr. Landrigan is an expert on toxic environmental and occupational exposures, and is Editor-in-Chief of the American Journal of Industrial Medicine and former Editor-in-Chief of Environmental Research. In 1988, he served as Chair of the science committee that reviewed the health effects of Agent Orange for the American Legion. Dr. Landrigan served as an epidemiologist with the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention from 1970-1985.

Elaine L. Larson, Ph.D., R.N., F.A.A.N., C.T.C.

is Dean of the Georgetown University School of Nursing. Dr. Larson was Professor and Nutting Chair in Clinical Nursing at the Johns Hopkins University School of Nursing and Director of the School's Center for Nursing Research from 1985-92. She is a member of the Health Sciences Policy Board of the Institute of Medicine, National Academy of Sciences, and is a Trustee of the Research Foundation of the Association of Practitioners in Infection Control. She has been a consultant in infection prevention in the U.S., Kuwait, Singapore, South America, Australia, Ghana, and Europe.

Rolando Rios

is a public interest attorney in private practice in San Antonio, Texas. From 1969-72, Mr. Rios served in the U.S. Army. He earned the rank of First Lieutenant and was disabled while serving at Cam Ranh Bay during the Vietnam War.

Andrea Kidd Taylor, Dr.P.H.

is an industrial hygienist and occupational health policy consultant for the International Union, United Automobile, Aerospace and Agricultural Implement Workers of America (UAW) in Detroit, Michigan. Dr. Taylor is a health representative on the National Advisory Committee for Occupational Safety and Health. From 1984-89, she was an industrial hygiene consultant for the Maryland Committee on Occupational Safety and Health.

|Back to Table of Contents| Prev Page| Next Page|